Meet the Team, Kara Benton

As a small, family-owned and operated winery, we are very hands on with all aspects of our business.  Yet sometimes the day to day operations do not give our customers an inside view to the people behind the products.

Kara Benton is the CFO for all of our companies and is active in just about all aspects of winery life.   She is a mother, wife, and skilled professional who keeps everything running smooth.

Kara has an MBA and spent time studying the European Union abroad.  She also spent a year living in Australia and has traveled through both Europe and Asia.

At Benton Family Wines, Kara is head of all administration including accounting and human resources.  However, it is not uncommon to see her in the tasting room or winery helping out.

Favorite music to listen to at work?

I like to listen to hip-hop and pop.  It is upbeat and helps me work faster.  My co-workers often laugh at me when they walk in and I am busting out an Eminem song with my headphones on.  I like all types of music, but happy, upbeat music is what I prefer most of the time.

What is your favorite wine from our companies?

I like white wine more than red wine, in general.  Our Viognier is my favorite wine that Daniel makes.  One thing that inspired us to dive into the wonderful world of wine was our first wedding anniversary trip to Napa.  We visited Stag’s Leap Winery and this was the first time I had tried a Viognier, I was hooked.  Luckily, I have a husband who is talented enough to make this wine for me now!

What is your favorite wine outside of ours?

I don’t think I have one wine that is a favorite.  I always enjoy trying new things and continuing to learn about different wines.  I like Albinos from Spain, Pinot Noirs from Oregon and there is even a Viognier from my home state of Virginia that I love…but haven’t had in a while.

If you could share a meal with anyone, who would it be?  What would you eat?

My family has been so important in my life.  I would love to share a meal with my grandparents, aunts and uncles who have passed on.  I would not care what we eat, because the food is not what matters.  The company you are with and the time you spend with loved ones is much more important than what is on the plate in front of you.

What is your favorite part of the wine industry?

My favorite part of the wine industry is the sense of community everyone has.  There have been so many times that other vineyard workers, vintners or winery owners have helped us out since we started traveling this road.  We feel fortunate to have met so many great people along the way and we can call many of them our friends.

What is your favorite meal?  What wine would you pair with it?

I love almost all seafood and that generally goes with white wine.  If I had to pick a favorite, it would probably be crab (prepared any way – cold, dip, warm with butter, crab cakes, it doesn’t matter) paired with Viognier.  I do also really enjoy salads and gazpachos with various rosé, but crab usually beats anything.

Who in the wine industry do you admire?

Everyone!  This is a tough business.  When we first began I found it odd that everyone wanted industry specific knowledge (I work in finance).  I thought I could count, add and subtract so what more could there be, but now that we are 10 years in, I understand.  Every aspect of this business is somewhat unique and everyone in the business should be given credit where credit is due.

Do you prefer aged wines or younger wines?  Why?

I definitely prefer younger wines.  I like the fruit forward profile of younger wines.  I am not necessarily looking for sweetness in wine, but I like bright fruit and definitely want the fruit flavors to be more present.  Aged wines seem to typically have less fruit and more earthy, leather, tobacco or smoke flavors.  I certainly appreciate aged wines, but they do not generally have the flavor profile I enjoy the most. 

 

What is your fondest wine memory?

I cannot choose one moment.  I have shared and enjoyed wine with many friends and family over the years.  Wine is part of a life well lived.  Sharing great wine and food with loved ones will always create fond memories and forge new friendships.  We have met so many wonderful people because of wine and we look forward to meeting more people and continuing to share a part of our family with theirs.

 

Leave a comment